Pumpkin Chiffon Pie ~ A Canning Interlude

25 Dec

Well I thought I’d have some fun while I figure out food photography and include other delectable yummies on the blog. As for the photography, the good old saying goes, practice makes perfect!

Now onto the pie! This is a fab recipe that a colleague shared with me. It’s light and not filling with all that yummy pumpkin flavour. Perfect after a full turkey meal!

I had a light bulb moment right in the middle of making this that I could take some photos and blog about it. So I don’t have any earlier photos of egg cracking action. So lets get you up to speed.

First of all I doubled the recipe so all the amounts are doubled but the single pie recipe is at the end of the post.
Separated 6 eggs, set the whites aside. Then added 1 cup sugar to the yolks and mixed. Transferred to a pot, then added one can of pumpkin, 4 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice, 1 cup milk, 1 teaspoon salt and set stove to medium heat. Then stir until thick.

Cool action shot! (if I do say so myself!) Now this is easier said than done. In the recipe it says that it will take 20 minutes and it does. You don’t want to walk away from this because it spits up and gets all over the place. After 5 minutes my arm. After 10 minutes. After 15 minutes I was wondering if stirring would give me karate kid type abilities either that or a popeye arm. I tried to stir with my left arm but I’m in no way that coordinated. After 18 minutes, I was wondering if I missed out an ingredient. But sure enough minute 20 arrived and the mixture dried enough.
Pulled it off the heat and added the gelatin.

Mix until the gelatin melts and is incorporated. Then refrigerate.

Okay, I could have made a pie crust but these were taking up room in my freezer that I had to free up. That’s my answer and I’m sticking to it! 🙂
I just popped them into the oven to cook white the pumpkin mix was chillin’

Next whip up the 6 egg whites in the blender.

Wahoo! Action shot! When the whites just peak, incorporate 1 cup of sugar 1 tablespoon at a time.

Now add the whipped up egg whites into the pumpkin mixture.

Fold in the egg whites.

And fold…

And fold…until it’s all incorporated nicely. You want to keep it nice and fluffy by folding it in.

Now add into the cooked pie shells.

After filling, chill in the fridge until set. Don’t they look absolutely scrumptious?!

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

3 tsp gelatin
1/4 cup cold water
3 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 cup milk

Soften gelatin in water for 5 mintutes. Separate eggs. Beat egg yolks and add 1/2 cup of sugar, pumpkin, salt, spices and milk. Cook over medium heat stirring constantly until mixture begins to thicken. (approx. 20 minutes) Add gelatin to hot pumpkin and stir until dissolved. Chill until mixture begins to thicken. Beat egg whites until almost stiff and beat in remaining sugar, 1 tbsp at a time. Fold egg whites into previous mixture. Pour into 9″ cooked pie shell or graham crust and chill until firm. Cover with whipped cream.

Yum, yum, yummay! Enjoy!

Love,

One Response to “Pumpkin Chiffon Pie ~ A Canning Interlude”

  1. donna May 8, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Mmmmmm looks fantastic Spike!!! I love anything pumpkin flavoured, wish I lived closer so I could pop by for a slice 🙂

Leave a Reply

